"MY LIFE IN PIXELS."

Framed sunset

Asus Zenfone Max
F2.0  1/2179S  ISO50

The sun sets every single day no matter where we are and we all know just how romantic, inspiring and utterly Instagram-able they can be.

I am fond of sunsets. Many times I have to stop doing an activity so I could take pictures of the sunset and sky on my phone. On numerous afternoons, I also find myself sitting in a hut near the bay and wait for the sunset to come. 

I captured this photo on that same hut. Before I was able to capture the sun on this angle, I took plenty of photos. I wasn’t contented because I noticed that they were common to the eyes. I looked around for a new angle then I saw this almost-dry plant. The sun still fits into the curved leaf, perfect! But is there any benefit to watching the sunset, or am I simply just doing it for the insta? 

Studies show that appreciating natural beauty may boost well-being and enhance life satisfaction. The key is to actively engage with the experience. To reap the rewards of that sunset, you need to stop whatever else you’re doing and really notice and appreciate the show in the sky.

So if you ask me if I’m simply doing it for the Insta, no. A big no. Sunsets are to be appreciated. Psychology Today says “People who feel connected with nature report being happier and having more positive emotions than those who don’t share this connection.”

Mahatma Gandhi said, “When I admire the wonders of a sunset or the beauty of the moon, my soul expands in the worship of the creator.” There’s a reason sunsets are timeless and constant standbys of poets, writers and romantics — they’re inspiring. 

This entry was published on April 13, 2017 at 7:05 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

